Reserve Unit


The Algona Police Reserve unit began operations in 1996 to supplement the regular operations of the police department.  The idea of a reserve unit was not unique to Kossuth County.  The Algona unit was modeled after the Kossuth County Sheriff's Reserve unit, which was created in the early 1980s.  Our reserve unit is a separate organization but is also affiliated with the Algona Police Department.  The reserve unit exists to supplement full-time police officers in a number of ways.  Members are fully uniformed and most equipment is supplied.  The volunteer officers assist with weekend patrols, emergencies, special events, and numerous other ways when additional manpower is needed.  The Algona Police Reserve is staffed with up to twelve members.  Openings are normally filled at the beginning of each calendar year.  applications are accepted at the Law Enforcement Center at any time.  Upon appointment new reserve officers complete 39 topics of training for a total of approximately 120 hours.  These courses need to be completed over an eighteen month period of time.  The following individuals currently staff the Algona Police Reserve:

Reserve Officers:

Jacob ZittritschServing Since 2011
John SteierServing Since 2011
John MainsServing Since 2015
Lara CramServing Since 2016
Ryan Miller (President)Serving Since 2017
Hallie JordanServing Since 2017
Mitchell SkowServing Since 2017
RJ WhiteServing Since 2017
Thomas AndersonServing Since 2018
Barbara EngelServing Since 2018
Brandon GiffordServing Since 2018
Michelle TietzServing Since 2018

no photo